Not a member? Become one today!
         iBerkshires     Berkshire Chamber     Berkshire Community College     City of Pittsfield    
Pittsfield Inaugural Ceremony Scheduled For Tuesday
Staff Reports,
02:03PM / Friday, December 29, 2017
Print | Email  

The ceremony will start at 10 a.m. Tuesday morning.

PITTSFIELD, Mass. — A new City Council will take the oath of office on Tuesday.

The 2018 inauguration ceremony is set for 10 a.m. in the City Council chambers. That is when two new councilors, two new School Committee members, and a new city clerk will take the oath of office.

The City Council will feature two new faces - Earl Persip III and Helen Moon - alongside nine incumbents - Kevin Morandi, Nicholas Caccamo, Christopher Connell, Donna Todd Rivers, John Krol, Anthony Simonelli, Melissa Mazzeo, Peter White, and Peter Marchetti.

On the School Committee Dennis Powell and William Cameron will be sworn in alongside incumbents Daniel Elias, Joshua Cutler, Cynthia Taylor, and Kathrine Yon. 

Michele Cetti will take over as city clerk.

Following the oath of office for those elected seats, the City Council will elect both its president and vice president. Marchetti served as the council president for the last two years, was the highest vote-getter in the election, and has voiced interest in returning to the position. Krol served as vice president.

The councilors will then draw for seating positions on the dais and establishing rules of order.

Mayor Linda Tyer will provide her inaugural address. 

More Featured Stories is owned and operated by: Boxcar Media 106 Main Sreet, P.O. Box 1787 North Adams, MA 01247 -- T. 413-663-3384 F.413-664-4251
© 2008 Boxcar Media LLC - All rights reserved