Not a member? Become one today!
         iBerkshires     Berkshire Chamber     Berkshire Community College     City of Pittsfield    
BCC Students to Be Inducted Into National Honor Society
05:43PM / Tuesday, May 05, 2020
Print | Email  

PITTSFIELD, Mass. — Berkshire Community College will hold a virtual induction ceremony for students joining the Xi Alpha Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on Wednesday, May 6, at 2 p.m., via Zoom.                                                             

Phi Theta Kappa is the national honor society of junior and community colleges in the United States. The purpose of the society is to recognize and encourage scholarship among students.

To be eligible for membership, students with freshman standing (12 to 29 credits) must have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.8 or better. Students with a sophomore standing (30 or more credits) must have achieved a cumulative average of 3.6 or better.

The inductees include: Philip Baruch, Alecia Briggs, Brianna Christman, Liza Citron, Nancy Collins, Lisa Cook, Elena Dichiara, Alison Drozd, Alyssa Dunham, Stacey Ellery, Denise Foss, Lior Gazit, Lauren Gregory, Meghan Griffith, Nicole Haas, Jill Hersey, Theresa Kelly, Alexis Klemansky, Viviane Komenda-Scherer, Nicole Kotsos, Kristen Lee-Caro, Chelsea Mason-Basiliere, Irma Nivelo, Jack O’Meara, Dawn O’Neil, Jacqueline Pekosz, Theresa Quagliano, Erin Redd, Samantha Rodriquez, Elizabeth Russell, Hannah Shmulsky, Lisa Soucy, Colleen Sullivan, Julia Troie, Mary Wilson and Madeline Zelazo.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, Germany, Peru, the British Virgin Islands, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the United Arab Emirates. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

More Featured Stories is owned and operated by: Boxcar Media 106 Main Sreet, P.O. Box 1787 North Adams, MA 01247 -- T. 413-663-3384 F.413-664-4251
© 2008 Boxcar Media LLC - All rights reserved