Not a member? Become one today!
         iBerkshires     Berkshire Chamber     Berkshire Community College     City of Pittsfield    
Lanesborough Elects Former Police Chief Sorrell to Select Board
By Brian Rhodes, iBerkshires Staff
09:33AM / Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Print | Email  

LANESBOROUGH, Mass. — The town's retired police chief, Timothy Sorrell, has been elected to a three-year term on the Select Board after winning Tuesday's annual town election. 

Sorrell won 407-253 over incumbent Gordon Hubbard. Sorrell, who served the department for 28 years before spending another six as chief, is also a member of the Police Station Building Committee and was recently appointed as a special police officer in Adams. 
The Select Board race was the only contested seat on the ballot, with all other positions running unopposed. There were 664 ballots cast total. 
Voters elected Incumbent Ronald Tinkham and Regina M. DiLego to three-year terms on the Finance Committee. DiLego will replace incumbent Kevin Towle, who did not run for re-election. 
Leanne Yinger was re-elected to a four-year Planning Board term with 455 votes and write-in candidate Deborah Maynard was also elected to the board for five years after receiving 136 votes. 
Katherine Wood was re-elected to the library trustees with 538 votes, the most on the ballot. Wood, the incumbent, will serve a three-year term. 
Incumbent Robert Riley will serve another three-year term on the Northern Berkshire Vocational Regional School Committee after receiving 529 votes.  
The town will hold a ceremony on July 5 in the Town Hall Community Room to swear in the newly-elected town officials. 
More Featured Stories is owned and operated by: Boxcar Media 106 Main Sreet, P.O. Box 1787 North Adams, MA 01247 -- T. 413-663-3384 F.413-664-4251
© 2008 Boxcar Media LLC - All rights reserved